Wrong Number

Wrong Number

Beep. Beep. Beep. Beep. Beep. Beep. Beep- Click.

“Hey I’m not here right now, leave a message.”

Please leave a message at the tone or press one for fax.

Beep.

“Hey Carl, it’s Laura.”

A small coughy laughter spatter.

“I know, it’s been a while. I don’t even know if this is still your number.”

Little wheezings like blood in lungs.  

“Funny thing, but I won’t get into it, kind of don’t have a lot of time you know.”

Some silence, some more silences peppered throughout.  

“I think I’m dying, Carl. In fact I know I am. I’m in this goddamn car crash and there is literally something stabbing me in the heart or kidneys right now I think. I won’t get into it but I’m dying that’s for sure and there is no one around to— ”

A dying away of voice, like some silences, a breath of rattling suspense to sustain the small amount of life slipping away like water in cupped hands. 

“Anyway Carl, have a good life, huh? I loved you a lot. That’s all I wanted to say.”

Click.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

